Book Reviews, Take 3

I’m determined to catch up and start posting more detailed book reviews, but here are some more mini-reviews of books I read last year. My plan (assuming the arrival of BabyFab allows it) is to start posting full-length book reveiws when I get up to 2012 on my reading list.

This Burning Land: Lessons from the Front Lines of the Transformed Israeli-Palestinian Conflict by Greg Myre and Jennifer Griffin – I found this nonfiction title to be a page turner. By focusing on the effects of this never-ending conflict on the people living in Israel and Palestine, Myre and Griffin created an engrossing look into current events. I came away with a better understanding of the issues at hand, and I felt that both journalists were successful at showing the faults of both sides. Myre is a reporter for NPR and Griffin for Fox News so they were certainly covering different aspects of the conflict while they were there. They are married with children, and their descriptions of raising children in the midst of the conflict were very interesting.

Y: The Last Man by Brian K. Vaughan – This started out promising but turned into a pretty chauvinistic and overly simplistic idea of what would happen if women were left alone to rule the world. I am curious to know what happens next but not enough to wade through Vaughan’s portrayal of women.

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel – This was a book club book and a quick read since it was in graphic format. I thought it was a fun read in that the storytelling style was unique, but I admit I was not as impressed as some people with the work as a whole. As I noted in my Goodreads review, I enjoyed reading it, but some unknown factor keeps me from giving it that fifth star.

Batgirl: Year One by Scott Beatty – This was a fun origin story, but ultimately not the most enjoyable comic I’ve read so far. Admittedly, there have been few.

Undeniably Yours by Shannon Stacey – This is the second book in Stacey’s romance series on the Kowalski brothers. This book employed the pregnancy trope, which I have learned I do not enjoy in romance. The character development in this one was seriously lacking in comparison with the first book in the series. Also, the main character’s reason for not wanting a relationship was because her parents “loved her too much.” There is never any proof that they were anything but normal and loving parents. The reader also leared about things happening after the fact rather than being shown what was happening in real time. I hear the next book is much better so I’ll keep an open mind and read it.

The Pyramid: and Four Other Kurt Wallander Mysteries by Henning Mankell – These were enjoyable stories. I have not read any of the other Wallander mysteries, and this is meant as a prequel to those for fans who want to know more about Wallander’s past. I still found it riveting and will definitely pick up the first Wallander mystery when I’m in the mood for some good Scandinavian crime fiction.

Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris – I always enjoy these, even though they have been going downhill in quality. There were some really good parts, but there was a lot of filler and too many secondary characters that barely had anything to do with the plot. I don’t need to know ALL of Sookie’s inner thoughts, every time she brushes her hair, or the details of her planning a baby shower. And I’m tired of her worrying about being a good Christian. Girlfriend, you have slept with several supernatural beings and killed someone. It’s time to stop worrying about that now, I think.

I’ll keep reading these, but they haven’t been great since book 4.

2 thoughts on “Book Reviews, Take 3

  1. Pingback: Download Childrens Audio Books | All On Audio Books

Leave a Reply

