Nursery fun.

In case you missed the Twitter announcement, BabyFab is a girl! After finding that out, we can now begin to decorate the nursery. My intention was never to have pink for a girl and blue for a boy, but I do want some feminine touches. This is what we have so far. My mother-in-law generously purchased our crib, which should be delivered this week. We chose this one, the DaVinci Kalani. White seems to be the trend for baby furniture these days, but we both prefer the Mission Style look of this cherry crib.

When shopping for bedding, I found that the only bedding that suits my tastes (Crate & Barrel and Pottery Barn) would cost more than the crib! Also, the crib sets all come with bumpers, which have been known to be hazardous for some time now. I hate to pay for something that is useless so decided to sew my own crib skirt out of this Amy Butler fabric that I ordered last night and buy or register for solid color sheets to match.We live in a house built in the 1960’s so the retro style looks especially good.

I may also try my hand at making a baby quilt out of the charm pack below since it will look nice with this fabric. FYI – For the non-sewers, a charm pack is a package of pre-cut fabric squares. You save money since you get a bunch of different patterns without having to buy yardage and save time by not having to do much cutting. That wouldn’t go in the crib, but I could use it in the car seat or rocker. I’m also in the middle of knitting this baby blanket, which will be a smallย car seat/stroller sized blanket.

I found this adorable print on Etsy of a little girl reading with a furry orange monster and had to order it so that’s one piece of decoration we have. My talented BFF also offered to paint some fairy tale themed art for the room, and I’m super excited about that. So I have ideas and have gotten started on a few things, but hopefully it will all come together by the end of February!

11 thoughts on “Nursery fun.

  1. Love the crib, and your choice in fabric. I must admit I was rather shocked at the cost of bedding sets. You’ll get far more pleasure out of the bedding if you make it yourself.

  2. We bought a very similar crib! We love it, I hope you like it too ๐Ÿ˜€

    Have you thought about dressers yet? The only reason I ask is because we bought a dresser that matched our crib. It had the same slopping lines on the sides, and we found it very difficult to use the traditional child proofing drawer locks that prevent the drawers from being opened AT ALL so they can’t be used as a climbing aid.

    Just thought I pass on that thought, if I had to do a dresser again it would be straight lines and flush drawer fronts ๐Ÿ˜€

    I’m so excited for you!!!

    • My dad is actually going to make a dresser that is at the right height to use as a changing table so we aren’t getting the matching one. He’s going to make something that will hold the changing pad in place, but that can be removed when we’re past diaper stage. He will match the stain to the crib, but it will be just a regular dresser.

  3. love the fabric you chose for the crib skirt — I love non-traditional palettes for babies ๐Ÿ™‚ I bet you could whip up an amazing quilt in no time out of that charm pack!

Leave a Reply

