And Baby Makes Three

Some of you may have been wondering why I’ve been so quiet on social media lately. Well on Twitter, not on my blog, which has been sorely neglected for some time now. I’ve been busy sleeping and feeling tired all the time because I’m pregnant! Baby Fabulous is due on February 26, 2012, and I’m just finishing up the first trimester. I can finally tell the internets now since I’ve seen the ultrasound and there really is a baby in there. I’m feeling much better now that I’m past the nausea of the first trimester. Now I just have two new hobbies: sleeping and eating. I’ve been wanting to do some exercise but pregnancy and a heat wave don’t inspire much activity. I’m dreaming of Fall.

I’m learning that pregnancy means that strangers will ask you personal things without batting an eye. Of course, I have no intention of answering personal questions so I hope they are ready for disappointment. Also, the world would love to shut pregnant women in a quiet room and not let them do anything at all. There are so many Β so-called rules that are “just in case this might hurt the baby” with no scientific evidence to back them up. I spend so much time looking for actual reputable information that comes from real doctors and scientists. Luckily, I have a great doctor who is calm and not fear-mongering or “woo” at all.

I will probably blog more about the pregnancy and planning for the arrival as things move along. I also have a bunch of mini book reviews to post that will be up soon. So wish me luck that the baby decides not to take this route into the world. The thought of childbirth has always conjured up this image for me.

22 thoughts on “And Baby Makes Three

  1. Such great news! And I have to say “Baby Fabulous” is the best moniker I’ve heard in a long time!

    A friend of ours is also pregnant and she said the 1st trimester totally sapped her, but she has a lot more energy now.

    • The closer I get to the second trimester, the better I feel. I’m also glad that there isn’t too much hot weather left this year. I can get out and walk to help with the energy when it’s more comfortable.

    • I am definitely wearing my regular clothes while I can. One or two pairs of snug pants are already too small, but for the most part everything fits. I’m not looking forward to buying clothes I can only wear for a few months.

  2. Fantastic news!
    Yep, first trimester is the worst (btw, you grow the entire placenta then).
    After that it is just watching the days pass.

    My favorites were the Utterly Random people who start touching your belly when it starts becoming protuberant.
    (Oh, and people’s delivery stories. Learn a proactive way to cut them off early.)

    • I’m not looking forward to the touchy people. I will have to come up with something good for them! I really don’t understand why they can’t resist touching. I never feel the desire to touch a pregnant woman’s belly, but I’m big on wanting personal space.

  3. GREAT NEWS!

    Being only an observer of pregnant friends, the only major advice I can give at the moment is to decide now what response you’ll give random strangers who come up and touch your belly. It will happen.
    One friend started touching back. The looks on peoples faces were hilarious.

    I hope you really enjoy the journey to welcoming your new Baby Fabulous.

  4. Aw, WP ate my comment I think – if not, sorry for the duplicate!

    Many congratulations are in order! Great news that you’ve made it through your 1st trimester – it was the most baffling, in my opinion. I would love to hear about your pregnancy journey, so please post!

    • Hm, it looks like it sent your first attempt to spam for some reason. I’ll delete that one. I’ll definitely try to post throughout the pregnancy. It will be something new to post about to get me out of my blogging malaise.

      It seems like the first trimester is universally sucky! I’m glad I’m pretty much past it now.

Leave a Reply

