Mini-Reviews

Here are two more romance reviews from my romance reading goal this year.

What the Librarian Did by Karina Bliss – After a coworker jokingly left this book in my box, I decided to read it and see how bad it would be. I’ve never read a Harlequin before and was prepared for a horrible read. I was surprised to really like it! The librarian stereotypes were a bit annoying, and the college age students acted very young. But, as a librarian, I can get behind a librarian/rock star romance any day. 🙂 This was like the book version of candy.

Undeniably Yours by Shannon Stacey –This seemed like a safe pick because I liked the first in the series, but it was a disappointment. I’m not a fan of pregnancy plots in romance, but I thought Stacey might bring something different to the story. The heroine was really annoying because her reasons for not wanting a relationship were not believable. She’s afraid of getting too close because her parents loved her too much, but Stacey never shows us that. From this book, her parents seem completely normal and not smothering at all. The secondary romance was much better, but not enough time was spent on it.

My main problem with this title when compared with the first Kowalski romance is that Stacey forgets the rule of good writing, “show, don’t tell”. The reader spends the whole book reading conversations about what happened instead of actually seeing things for themselves.

I hear the next one is better. I hope so.

One thought on “Mini-Reviews

Leave a Reply

