Day 5: Happy Happy Joy Joy

30 Days of Books: Day 05 – A book that makes you happy.

I’m cheating because it’s a tie between Little Hoot by Amy Rosenthal and Smitten by David Gordon.

Little Hoot is a bedtime story about an owl who desperately wants to go to sleep, but his parents make him stay awake all night because that’s what owls do. The illustrations are really cute, and I always want to curl up and take a nap at the end. This reverse psychology is supposed to lull your child to sleep, but I don’t know if it will work as well for them as it does for me!

Smitten is about a sock and a mitten who have lost their matches, and they need to keep each other company in the big city. Knitters will love this one because they end up knitting when one of them gets a snag. Too adorable for words! It’s very colorful, and the friendship between the two makes me smile.

2 thoughts on “Day 5: Happy Happy Joy Joy

  1. I looove kid’s books (that was my (huge) section when I was a bookseller), I’ll have to find these for my nephew 🙂 especially the owl one!

  2. Thanks for posting about “Little Hoot”, that seems like it’s right up my alley (I like to enjoy the books I read to Evy as well). I was excited to see that Amazon had a boxed set of this book – including two others by the author – in board book format!!! Evy likes to eat books right now, so board books are the way to go. Thanks again for suggesting it!

Leave a Reply

