Day 4: Favorite Series Installment

OK, I’m back at it again after a crazy workweek that left me brain dead in the evenings.

30 Days of Books: Day 04 – Favorite book of your favorite series.

Of the Harry Potter series, book five, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is my favorite installment. I am going to discuss specific (and important) plot points from more than one book in the series here so if you are one of the two people who haven’t read these or seen the movies, you have been warned.

Neville Longbottom is one of my favorite characters in the series, and a lot of time was spent on his character development in OotP. The tragic story of his parents really pulled at my heartstrings, and if Rowling were to write more books in this universe, I’d love a saga of the Longbottom or Lovegood families. I also came to adore Sirius Black in OotP. He is the only character I can’t forgive Rowling for killing off. Even Dumbledore’s death didn’t measure up as far as emotional impact for me. Well, there is Dobby, whose death I started sobbing about in the last movie about 5 minutes before it happened because I knew what was coming.

Order of the Phoenix was the first book that stopped feeling so formulaic and developed a lot of the overall story arc for the series.

One thought on “Day 4: Favorite Series Installment

  1. I really liked Goblet of Fire. I thought it was the best paced book of the series (ebbing and flowing between the different challenges) and JKR announced loudly that this was no longer going to be a “kids series” with the death of Cedric. Completely upped the ante and set the tone for the conclusion of the series.

Leave a Reply

