The Road by Cormac McCarthy

The Road by Cormac McCarthy was one of our book club selections this summer. After being introduced to McCarthy in the same book club with No Country for Old Men, I was very excited to read his most popular work. Not surprisingly, it was amazing. I am in love with the McCarthy’s sparse prose. It really packs a punch for this kind of survival story. I really felt the emotions and fears of the man and his son as they tried to survive an (unknown to the reader) apocalyptic event. The lack of knowledge of what happened before the book or the names of the characters really served to make this a visceral reading experience that stripped the story to the present. Isn’t that what survival really is, making it from one minute to the next?

There were some very gruesome scenes that served to show the reader what McCarthy imagines of mankind in the event of a disaster of this magnitude. Let’s just say he is not optimistic. I can’t recommend this novel enough. Don’t read it for an uplifting look at humanity, but for a bleak view of survival that will keep you turning the pages to find out what happens next.

11 thoughts on “The Road by Cormac McCarthy

      • I didn’t know much McCarthy until I saw No Country For Old Men, which I really liked. I wanted to let the movie go for a while before I read the novel. I’ve heard that it’s really good. Maybe this year is the year!

  1. I really need to give him a shot. I hated the movie No County for Old Men but everyone is so in love with him that I’m trying to to let that stop me (it will stop me from loving the Coen Brothers though).

    • A few folks in my book club feel the same way as you about McCarthy. I really dislike flowery writing and like his raw view of the world, but I know he isn’t for everyone.

      Thanks so much for the comment! I really need to find a way to organize where all the Vox people went because I’m not doing a very good job of keeping up with everyone. I’ll definitely add you on Goodreads right away.

  2. Pingback: Day 1: Best Book Last Year « Bookishly Fabulous

Leave a Reply

