The Pilot’s Wife by Anita Shreve

I was at a friend’s house for book club, and he had a copy of The Pilot’s Wife on his shelf. I decided to borrow it and see what all the fuss is about. Apparently, all the fuss is about a fantastic book! Shreve has a very readable writing style, with just the right amount of dialog and exposition. The story itself was very gripping from the first page. I always have trouble concentrating on the books I bring to the beach, but The Pilot’s Wife had no trouble holding my interest among the hustle and bustle of the bay on July 4th weekend. (That’s how behind I am on book reviews.)

In case you are the other person who hasn’t read this book, it is about a woman who finds out that her husband’s plane has gone down. As the investigation into the crash goes further and further, she finds out that she didn’t know him as well as she thought she did. A very shocking secret is slowly revealed, and you can really feel the disorientation of the main character as she adjusts to this new picture of her late husband. This book already led me to read another Shreve book that I’ll review soon, and I look forward to reading more from her.

Highly recommended!

2 thoughts on “The Pilot’s Wife by Anita Shreve

Leave a Reply

