Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson

Back at the beginning of summer, I was looking for a light audiobook to listen to on my morning runs. Perusing my library’s Overdrive site, I found and downloaded the young adult novel, Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson.

As a light diversion while running, Suite Scarlett was great. Scarlett lives in a historic hotel in Manhattan that her family owns and runs. On her fifteenth birthday, she receives the key to a suite that she will be in charge of. Her first customer is a very demanding woman, Amy Amberson, who asks her to do some questionable things. This is where my annoyance meter went off while listening. I can’t think of many teenagers who would have done the things Scarlett was asked to do without alerting their parents. Of course there would be no story if she did go to her parents so I guess I’ll just have to live with that. Scarlett also has a love interest and many hi-jinx with her brother, who is trying to start an acting career.

Overall, this was like listening to a fluffy ABC Family movie, which is perfect for what I need while I’m huffing and puffing at 5 AM. Scarlett is a fun narrator with a dry humor, and her siblings add interesting side stories to the novel.

One thought on “Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson

Leave a Reply

