sTori Telling by Tori Spelling

After I read two pretty dark books in a row (The Surgeon by Tess Gerritsen and Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez), I was in need of a very light read. A co-worker was mentioning that she enjoyed sTori Telling so I thought that should do quite nicely.

You can guess whether or not you’ll enjoy this book before even opening the front cover. I loved Beverly Hills, 90210 so I knew that any dirt she gave about the cast of that show or her tumultuous relationship with her mother would be good reading. Tori did not dissapoint! No one will ever know how true the juicy bits about her mother are, but if they are even a little true, I feel for Tori. Her mother was really the ice queen, and her father, hugely successful producer Aaron Spelling, favored Tori in a way that made things worse with her mother. Reading about her childhood growing up with the most successful television producer at the time was interesting. A few of these sections had a poor little rich girl vibe (like getting a porsche instead of the VW she wanted – boohoo).

I loved the section in the beginning about her time on 90210. We learn that Luke Perry is a stand up guy, which makes my 16 year old self swoon [see below]. Unsurprisingly, she notes that Shannon Doherty was a challenge to work with.

The main thing I didn’t like about the book was how she tried to rationalize her and her current husband, Dean, cheating on their respective spouses (Dean had children with his first wife) and then marrying each other. I understand that marriages fall apart, but Tori can’t blame the situation on a bad marriage. She wanted a fairy tale wedding and married a man she didn’t love to get it. Then she treated asking for a divorce like breaking up with someone in high school. That’s hard to rationalize by going on about love at first sight.

That said, I’ll still read her next book.

4 thoughts on “sTori Telling by Tori Spelling

  1. I’ve toyed with the idea of reading this book since I started watching–dear God, I’m gonna say it–the Tori and Dean reality show. Glad to know you liked it despite its iffy parts.

    • I have only seen one or two episodes of the reality show, but only because we subscribe to basic cable and the show is on a cable channel. I’ve thought about getting it through Netflix, but my husband would not let me hear the end of that.

Leave a Reply

