Booking Through Thursday – Oldies but goodies?

btt button

Do you prefer reading current books? Or older ones? Or outright old ones? (As in, yes, there’s a difference between a book from 10 years ago and, say, Charles Dickens or Plato.)

I like to read a variety of books from different time periods.  I probably read more current books (by current I mean published in the last 10 years, not new releases) because I like to keep up with reading trends for my job, but I sprinkle in classics here and there.  I will read the “latest” releases every once in a while if a publisher sends an interesting ARC to my library’s collection management department, but I don’t feel like it’s that important to read what everyone else is reading unless someone with similar taste in books recommends something (i.e. my mom recommending The Help).  I seem to read a lot fewer galleys than a lot of book bloggers.  I like to read books that have already been reviewed extensively in the literary press because I don’t like to waste my reading time on duds.

4 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Oldies but goodies?

  1. I’ve always preferred classics 🙂 That doesn’t mean I’m Literary. I’m not; it’s just that I’ve ended up hating any of Oprah’s bookclub picks. Well, probably only read 10 of them but they weren’t my faves — did like Gary Zukov’s stuff but that’s self-help/ philosophy, which isn’t a novel!

    • Oh, I don’t usually read Oprah’s book club picks either. They are always ridiculously depressing, but everyone thinks they’re wonderful because Oprah liked them. Someone at a library conference said something like, “if Oprah stands near a book, it sells 100,000 copies, if she says the name of it, it sells 1,000,000.”

  2. I agree with you on galleys really, although I have had a few really good experiences with them especially this past Spring. Sometimes they can be real duds though!

  3. If it means anything, the other morning I caught my neighbor reading The Help and according to her, she loves it.
    I’ve always had pretty good luck with any books featured on NPR programs like Talk of the Nation, Fresh Air or All Things Considered/Morning Edition/Weekend Edition. I’ve also had good luck with any books mentioned in the New Yorker’s “Books Briefly Noted”.

Leave a Reply

