CSA Weeks 2 and 3

It’s time to catch you up on my CSA experience.  Before showing you the veggies we received for the last two weeks, I thougth I’d share how this change in our eating habits is working out.  Everyone who was skeptical of joining a CSA said that they wanted to choose what produce they would have during the week.  Not having a choice makes my life so much easier!  There is no more sitting around trying to decide what to cook for the week.  I have my ingredients picked out for me, and I only have to decide how to cook them and what protein to prepare.  Also, there is a HUGE difference in freshness (lettuce that was over a week old was still perfectly fresh for book club yesterday), and there is nothing like chatting with the farmer who grows your food on a weekly basis.  The woman who runs the CSA is wonderful and always gives us ideas of how to prepare vegetables that are not as well known to the general public.

CSA - Week 2

CSA - Week 2

  Week 2:

  1.  Arugula
  2. Collards
  3. Kale
  4. Lettuce
  5. Mizuna
  6. Tatsoi
  7. Turnips
  8. Oregano
  9. We also bought a dozen farm raised eggs this week. You haven’t tasted an egg yolk if you’ve only had store bought eggs.
CSA - Week 3

CSA - Week 3

Week 3:

  1. Arugula
  2. Beets
  3. Bok Choy
  4. Lettuce
  5. Turnips
  6. Lamb’s Quarters
  7. Lemon Balm
  8. Oregano  

Here are some of the yummy treats I’ve made with our CSA vegetables.  I’ll blog about them in detail soon.  

Delicious CSA Meals

1. Ham Steak with Collards/ Tatsoi, 2. Salad for Book Club, 3. Turkey Polska Kielbasa and Bok Choy, 4. Caldo Verde and Salad, 5. Caldo Verde, 6. Turnip Greens and Sweet Potato Fries

2 thoughts on “CSA Weeks 2 and 3

  1. Your food makes me jealous! I cook so little that I don’t think a CSA makes sense for me right now, but I do frequent my local farmer’s market often.

    • A CSA provides a lot of food so it’s probably too much for one person unless you went in on a share with someone else. The farmer’s market is a great way to support local farms without the commitment of a CSA.

      I had a guy at work say, “But I spend a lot less shopping for produce at the grocery store.” I had to explain that thrift was not the point of a CSA.

Leave a Reply

