Arugula Pesto

Our CSA share this week included quite a bit of arugula. I do like adding arugula to salads, but there was more of it than we needed for a week of salads so I decided to seek out a pesto recipe.  After looking around the internet at different recipes, I decided on one from the blog, In My Kitchen Garden.  This one looked most appealing because it included chickpeas, which are quite unorthodox in pesto but really cut the sharp peppery taste of arugula.  The only change I made was to use less olive oil than was called for.  I just added it until the consistency looked right.

The recipe was really easy, and I liked the idea of sauteing the garlic a little first to take some of the bite out of the flavor since arugula has plenty of bite on its own.  I alway find that the hardest part of making pesto is cleaning the food processor since it’s basically dumping stuff in the processor and pushing a button.

The pesto was a hit at the cookout we went to on Sunday night. I came home with an empty container.  I highly recommend this recipe.  Here are some photos of the prep:

4 thoughts on “Arugula Pesto

    • Thanks! My other theme was just too busy. I like this simplicity of this one. Now I just need to get with it and blog more regularly. I have a huge backlog of books to review.

Leave a Reply

