CSA – Week 1 – Fridge full of greens.

CSA Week 1 - 5/29/10

CSA Week 1 - 5/29/10

If you follow me on Twitter, you have surely noticed that I’m excited about the CSA we’re participating in this summer and fall.  After reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma, I really wanted to change the way I approach food.   I immediately started looking for a local CSA and got on the waiting list for the New Earth Farm CSA here in Virginia Beach.  I got an email early in the spring letting me know that there was a spot free if we wanted it.  This week is our first pick-up week. 

Unfortunately, I worked yesterday so I didn’t get to go with Dan to the farm.  If I had, I would have taken a picture of all the greens before they were washed and stored, but you’ll have to settle for a picture of our jampacked crispers.  Here’s a list of what we got in the share this week:

  • Arugula – I’ve already made some pesto with this that I’ll blog about.
  • Mizuna – Japanese mustard greens.  We’ll throw this in salads.
  • Green Kale – I love kale! I’ll wilt this with red onions, garlic and vegetable broth.
  • Black Kale – This is new to me, and I’m going to make the recipe for Portuguese Kale-Potato-Sausage Soup the CSA included in this week’s newsletter.
  • Deer Tongue Lettuce – For salads.
  • Tatsoi – Here’s a description of tatsoi.  I’ll treat it like spinach.  We got several bunches of this so it will feature in most meals this week.
  • Garlic Scapes – This is a part of the garlic plant that farmers cut off so the garlic will keep growing.  It’s edible, and I made pesto with it (yes, I love pesto and made two kinds already).  I’ll blog that also.
  • Basil
Leave a Reply

