The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

This is a good review I’m surprised to be writing.  I am not a fan of epic fantasy.  I just barely made it through Fellowship of the Ring and have no plans to finish that trilogy, and I tried to read The Mists of Avalon without success.  A few weeks ago, I got an email from the person who organizes my book club that Patrick Rothfuss was going to speak at a local bookstore on the night of our book club.  We decided to attend the signing as a group and have dinner afterwards to discuss the book for this month.  Because Dan promised me that I would like The Name of the Wind even though epic fantasy puts me to sleep, I gave it a shot.  I was very pleasantly surprised.

The main character of The Name of the Wind is Kvothe, who is an infamous hero and villain.  He is approached by a man named Chronicler, who asks him to tell his life story.  The book is the first in a trilogy where each book is one day of Kvothe telling his life story.  Once Kvothe started telling his story, I was hooked.  Kvothe is interested in finding out about the Chandrian, who the rest of the world believe to be the stuff of fairy tales, and the art of naming (hence the title). 

Rothfuss definitely writes a novel that fantasy lovers will enjoy.  He includes a rich mythology for the world he creates and is adept at description.  What hooked me was the focus on character development.  I don’t really care about reading a book that describes a fantasy world in detail.  An author has to give me a character to care about, and Kvothe is a great one.  I would recommend The Name of the Wind if you loved Harry Potter and would like to move up to an adult fantasy series or if you love fantasy and haven’t read this fantastic book yet.

Also, you should check out Patrick Rothfuss’s blog.  He’s hilarious.  If you get a chance to see him speak, make sure to take advantage of it.

3 thoughts on “The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

  1. That sounds really good — I remember you mentioning it before. I go in spurts with fantasy — which I do like, I just can’t read it all the time. But I haven’t read much in a while, so I just added it to my Amazon cart. Thanks for the rec!

Leave a Reply

