Mixed Bag – Linkolas

1. “Graphic Novel Puts ‘Twilight’ in a New Light for Stephenie Meyer’s Fans.” via USA Today – They’re not sure if they’ll do the last three in graphic format.  I think it is best for all if Breaking Dawn stays in a text version. I’m not sure how they’d illustrate the parts where Bella was bruised after rough sex with Edward and begging for more. Or the birth scene. Ew.  But they are making a movie of it so…

2.  Blogging for a Good Book, Williamsburg Regional Library’s book blog, has compiled all of the 2009 “Best of” lists into one spreadsheet where they tallied the results.  Wolf Hall seems to be the big winner.  The nonfiction list has some interesting titles I might have to check out.

3.  John Grisham is going to start writing YA novels now.  via Bookshelves of Doom.  I agree with Leila that Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer is a lame title, especially for YA readers.

4.  A colleague emailed me this link to “Book Review Bingo” where you look for cliches in the Sunday book reviews.  I know I’m guilty of one or two of these occasionally.  I particularly dislike the use of “unputdownable.”

5.  Uh, I’m really sorry to pick on Twilight twice in one post, but NPR’s Monkey See blog posted this brilliance: “The Writing Style of Twilight.” You really have to read the whole article because it is a conversation between a few people who work off of each other’s comments with the result of much hilarity.

It’s just this wildly florid prose that’s wielded with the subtlety and repetition of a jackhammer, all in the service of a story that’s going nowhere being told by a girl who seems to be fighting me for the gold medal in a not-liking-her contest.

This is so true:

Honestly, there’s part of me that blames, among other things, wretched editing. Because what sold the book was the story, and they could have created a MUCH more palatable book with proper editing.

8 thoughts on “Mixed Bag – Linkolas

  1. Oh, I think I use all those words in my reviews.

    (Kelly fail.)

    Fortunately, that Writing Style of Twilight conversation cheered me right up. 🙂 At least I don’t use sparkleEnglish.

  2. Feck!

    “It’s just this wildly florid prose that’s wielded with the subtlety and repetition of a jackhammer, all in the service of a story that’s going nowhere being told by a girl who seems to be fighting me for the gold medal in a not-liking-her contest.”

    If I were smart enough, I’d have written that!!

  3. My favorite part is where they wonder if maybe she’s like the guy in Memento and she forgets what she’s writing and that’s why she repeats herself so much.

  4. [this is good]

    Can I still comment that? Or does that belong exclusively to Vox? This whole random list is good 🙂 I’d never heard of Wolf Hall before, but just realizing it was about the Tudor “conflict” – as I like to call it – is enough to turn me off. I blame The Other Boleyn Girl.

    • I’ll take [this is good] anywhere! 🙂

      Thanks, I like doing the random list of links. I’ve just been keeping a post in draft status until I find 5 cool links to share and then posting.

      I’m thinking about reading Wolf Hall. I think the author probably did more research than Gregory. The Tudors are getting a little played out lately. I do love the Showtime series.

Leave a Reply

