Booking Through Thursday: Grammar

btt button

In honor of National Grammar Day … it IS “March Fourth” after all … do you have any grammar books? Punctuation? Writing guidelines? Style books?

More importantly, have you read them?

How do you feel about grammar in general? Important? Vital? Unnecessary? Fussy?

_______________________________________________

I think the only grammar or style books I have are in the boxes of textbooks I still have from college.  I haven’t really read them.  I just use them when I need to look something up.  Lately, it’s just as easy to look things up online when I can’t remember a specific rule of grammar.

I think grammar is pretty important.  Here on my blog and on Twitter, I’m not completely anal retentive about it because I don’t have time to read every post a bajillion times before posting.  This is my “fun” writing.  As such, I give the same consideration to other blogs and twitter feeds. However, once the grammar gets so bad that I have to stop and think about what someone is trying to say, I tend to stop reading.  One thing that bugs me A LOT is when people put in commas randomly in sentences where they don’t belong.  My brain is trained to pause at a comma so I have to go back and read a sentence again if you stick one in where it doesn’t belong.

One place I’m always surprised and dismayed to see lazy grammar is in professional communication.  Resumes, cover letters, flyers for businesses, emails at work, and letters should be read over with a fine-toothed comb.  I have worked with people who had such poor grammar that I was surprised their resumes actually made it past the first cut.  This is something that needs more emphasis in schools.  Students might be used to communicating through texts and Twitter, but they will be judged by their grammar when trying to obtain gainful employment.

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Grammar

  1. Hi! In my blog post #7 on November 14, I highlighted a particular punctuation point that shows up all the time in manuscripts I edit. I also included a couple of reference books in that post.

    Thanks for shining a light on this important element for anyone with a dream about writing for publication.

    All the best,
    Cheri

    • Thank you for the comment. I’ll have to look through your blog to refresh my memory on grammar. I find myself losing some of the knowledge when I don’t have to use it as much.

    • I find that the older I get and the further I am from writing essays for school, the more I have to think about grammar while I’m writing. It bugs me that we are getting so relaxed about it as a society because having a standard structure for writing makes it easier for all of us to communicate with each other.

  2. So, I take it, that, you would find, this sentence, really annoying?

    Excessive commas drive me crazy. 🙂

    I’m surprised at the lack of grammar skills I find in other lawyers. These people had at least 7 years of higher education. The least they could have done is learned to write properly.

    • Yes, that sentence, would, drive me, crazy. 🙂

      There are some librarians with poor grammar skills also, which surprises me since a lot of librarians have English as their undergraduate degree.

Leave a Reply

