Booking Through Thursday – Winter Olympics

btt button

You may have noticed–the Winter Olympics are going on. Is that affecting your reading time? Have you read any Olympics-themed books? What do you think about the Olympics in general? Here’s your chance to discuss!

__________________________________________________

I absolutely love the Olympics – Winter and Summer.  Watching the events this week has definitely taken over my reading time.  Generally, I watch very little television, and I watch on TiVo so what I do watch takes even less time, and I spend the rest of my free time reading or knitting and listening to audiobooks.  I’ve been trying to do more reading on my lunch break at work this week to make up for the evenings.  I usually knit and listen to podcasts at lunch to rest my brain from working with the public.

This year’s Winter Olympics are particularly interesting to me.  The US has some really great athletes that I am rooting for.  Shaun White, Shani Davis, Lindsey Vonn, Apolo Ohno, and Evan Lysacek are my favorites this time around.  I think the Olympics are so much fun to watch because these people have worked so hard to get to this point, and it is wonderful to watch them succeed, especially through obstacles like Lindsey Vonn’s shin injury.  I also love Canadian Alexandre Bilodeau’s story about switching from hockey to skiing because it was a more accessible sport for his brother who has cerebral palsy.  I was crying like a little girl when he won the gold and celebrated with his brother.

I have not read any Olympics-themed books.  I figure I’ve seen the Olympics so I don’t really need to read about them also.  One exception is a few running books that are about Olympic marathons.  Since I’m really interested in running right now, there are a few of those I’d like to read since I like learning about how elite runners train for races.

Leave a Reply

