My favorite books of 2009.

These are my favorite books out of all the books I read in 2009.  They weren’t necessarily published in 2009.  In fact, I think only two of them were.  They are in order by when i read them.  I don’t think I’d be able to pick one of these that I enjoyed more than the others so there is no real “Number 1.”

1. Margaret Atwood – Oryx and Crake

Atwood’s vision of a future dystopia is so well described that it seems eerily possible that this is, in fact, bound to be our future.

2. Cormac McCarthy – No Country for Old Men

Even though the subject matter  of this novel is not my typical fare, McCarthy’s writing style is amazing.  He has a wonderful ear for dialog.  I really want to read All the Pretty Horses and The Road.  I should also watch the film adaptation of this, but it seems a bit gruesome for me.  I’d rather read gore than watch it.

3. Suzanne Collins – The Hunger Games / Catching Fire

This series is riveting.  I don’t think I’ve met a person who doesn’t love the story.  This is dystopian fiction at its best, and it just happens to be young adult literature.  I truly think these will be classics one day.

4. Audrey Niffenegger – Her Fearful Symmetry

This book is getting mixed reactions compared to The Time Traveler’s Wife, but I really adored it.  I felt much more connected to the characters than in her debut, and I enjoyed how offbeat they all were.  The ending wasn’t perfect, but everything else about the book was perfect to me.

5. Muriel Barbery – The Elegance of the Hedgehog

Once I got used to the writing style of this novel, I couldn’t put it down.  I just loved the two main characters, and I was so sad to finish reading the book.

6. Haruki Murakami – What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

This was a favorite of mine most likely because I’m just getting into running, but Murakami’s writing is perfect for a book on running.  I have a feeling I will re-read this one in the future.

9 thoughts on “My favorite books of 2009.

  1. I find it interesting that No Country for Old Men made the list. I’ve never read and Cormac McCarthy (whom I should love because we share(d) a last name) but I did see the movie version of NCFOM and I think it’s my least favorite movie of all time. That turned me off from him so it’s nice to hear good things. Maybe it will encourage me to give him a chance and not judge the book by its movie.

    • The book is just as gruesome as the movie appears to be, but it is written so well. Perhaps you could start with All the Pretty Horses or The Road to see if his style would make the book palatable for you.

  2. Very interesting list! I love how diverse your favorites are.

    I keep seeing The Hunger Games on everyone’s year end favorites lists, I really need to read them. I’ve also owned and been meaning to read Oryx and Crake for a few years now – I should make that a priority for this year too. 🙂

  3. Yes to 1. and 3. Add Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and the sequel. Maybe first two or three Sookie Stackhouse series. There were some really good ones I can’t remember.

Leave a Reply

