2009: My year in reading.

To see the list of books I read in 2009, click here.  Below are a few statistics about the books I read last year. 

  • Number of books read: 48
  • Number of pages read: 15,928
  • Longest book: The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
  • Shortest book: The Green Mill Murder by Kerry Greenwood
  • Most challenging book: Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  • Books read for book club: 10
  • Young adult: 8
  • Fiction: 44
  • Nonfiction: 4
  • Author who I read the most: Charlaine Harris

As compared to 2008, I read 2 fewer books and 147 fewer pages.  I’m happy with that because my goal to read 50 books in 2008 had the intended effect of getting reading to be a regular part of my free time.

I set a goal to read the following books in 2009.  I marked out the ones that I read, and you can see that I didn’t do very well!

  1. John Steinbeck – East of Eden
  2. Ken Follett – Pillars of the Earth
  3. Haruki Murakami – Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
  4. Jeffrey Eugenides – Middlesex
  5. Tracy Chevalier – Girl with a Pearl Earring
  6. Ernest Hemingway – For Whom the Bell Tolls
  7. Fyodor Dostoyevsky – Crime and Punishment
  8. Virginia Woolf – A Room of One’s Own
  9. E.M. Forster – Howards End
  10. Geraldine Brooks – Year of Wonders

What I learned about myself this year is that I don’t do well with reading challenges.  As soon as I sign up for a challenge, I lose all interest in reading the books because it feels like homework.  My reading moods change fast, and I like to just read whatever I want to whenever I want to.  Belonging to a book club means that I have about one book per month chosen for me already so limiting my choices further with challenges is not the way for me to truly enjoy reading for pleasure.

With that said, my only reading goal for 2010 is to read for fun (with the exception of the odd book club book that I don’t like).  I am signed up for the Shelf Discovery Challenge, and I will see if I can complete it.  I’m not making any promises on that.  I am going to try to vary my reading selections a little more.  I started reading the Sookie Stackhouse books in 2009 and tore through the whole series.  I ended up burning out on that character and wishing that some of that time was spent reading other books. 

I will put up another blog post with my favorite books of the year soon.

7 thoughts on “2009: My year in reading.

    • I’ll think about that because I actually started East of Eden and got through several chapters. I had to put it down to finish a book club book in time. I think I could finish through Chapter 11 by 1/25. I have a book club book to read, but it’s The Bell Jar and I will rip through that one because it is a re-read of my favorite book ever.

    • Oh, and I am planning to start listening to audiobooks while I run. Especially on my long runs that last over an hour. The library I work for has Overdrive so I can check them out digitally and listen on my iPod. I just haven’t gotten around to picking one out yet.

    • I’m thinking of making book blogging goals rather than reading goals this year. For example, doing a weekly post summarizing my reading for the week and including interesting magazine articles also.

  1. I know what you mean. I discovered book challenges in 2008 and signed up for something like 20 and it just didn’t go so well.

    I haven’t signed up for any for 2010, because I think I know better now. Although I’ve been tempted to sign up for a bunch of them. 🙂

    • It’s hard not to sign up for them because of the community aspect of doing challenges, but I just don’t do very well reading that way. I’ll just have to learn to enjoy reading other people’s challenge posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

