The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan

I started reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma a while ago.  It might have been as far back as July or August.  I flew through most of the book, and then got stuck in the last section where I lost interest.  I ended up putting it down in lieu of other books and giving it to my mom and dad to read with an instruction to leave the post-it note where I left it so I could finish the book.  When I went home for Christmas, I got the book back from them and was determined to finish it on Sunday.

It’s too bad the last section left me feeling so frustrated with the book because the rest of it is really interesting and enlightening.  I learned a lot about our current food system and what its problems are.  I was really motivated to change the way we eat until I realized that there aren’t that many places around here to get the type of meat that I found “ethically raised” after reading the book.  I did put our names on the waiting list for a local CSA so I hope we make it in for the next growing season.  I’m really not interested in becoming vegetarian because my problem isn’t with eating animals, its with the way they are treated before becoming my meal.  I’m still on the lookout for a local farm where I can get meat.  One thing I really got from the book is that the label “organic “doesn’t really mean what I hope it would mean so I can save my money there.  Also, somewhere else I read that the phrase “locally grown” is not required to mean anything so they could be considering something grown on this continent “local.”

I think everyone would benefit from reading this book to learn more about the current agricultural system.  My only complaint is with the last section, which was Pollan’s own quest for the “perfect meal.”  He hunted boars, scavenged for mushrooms, and did several other things in his quest for this meal.  When my husband said that he stopped reading a few pages into this section, I thought that it would be different for me since I usually love to read about personal experiences.  The problem is that the section is really dry in comparison to the rest of the book.  He was very verbose in describing his efforts, and I was actually struggling to keep my eyes open while reading it.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.  It is packed with some incredibly interesting information, but it falls flat in the last section.

3 thoughts on “The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan

  1. I just started Jonathan Safran Foer’s Eating Animals last night. It sounds like it’s similar to this one. I’m pretty sure it will make me a vegetarian for some amount of time (for the umpteenth time).

Leave a Reply

