Splendor by Anna Godbersen

I finished three books over my Christmas vacation that I had previously started and not made much progress on.  One reason for this is that I left The Competitive Runner’s Handbook on my nightstand purposefully when I packed to go home for the holiday so I would finish the other books I’ve been meaning to finish.  I finished Splendor by Anna Godbersen, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami, and The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan.  I’ll review the last two in later posts.

I really enjoyed the final installment of The Luxe series.  This novel is really hard to review because there isn’t much I can say that won’t spoil something for someone who hasn’t read it or one of the previous books.  I can say that I was pleased with the way Godbersen chose to end each of the story lines.  The reader is not left wondering what happened in any of the subplots, which is something that usually bugs me in the end of a series like this.  Don’t string me along and then not tell me how it really ends!  I also loved the fact that she didn’t just write exactly what the fans wanted to read like some other Young Adult series I’ve read.  Some plots ended happily and some ended in a more bittersweet manner, but it was all really believable and satisfying.

I recommend this series to anyone who really loves the Gilded Age and upstairs-downstairs story lines.  If the covers of these books draw you to them, you’ll probably like them because Godbersen really describes the clothing and atmosphere very well.

2 thoughts on “Splendor by Anna Godbersen

Leave a Reply

