This and that and running, of course.

I promise I have not abandoned my dear WordPress blog.  Lately, I haven’t been plowing through as many books as usual so I don’t have reviews to post.  I’m currently reading three books, which is probably why I haven’t finished one: What I Talk About When I Talk About Running, Marathoning for Mortals, and The Girl Who Stopped Swimming.

To say that I’m slightly obsessed with running would be an understatement.  Luckily, my husband is supportive and listens to me prattle on about it without complaint.  Last night, we watched Spirit of the Marathon on Netflix Instant Watching, and it was really inspirational.  It’s a documentary about a group of very different people preparing to run the Chicago Marathon.  I really enjoyed seeing how people of all different abilities prepare for marathons.  There were two elite runners they followed, a couple that wanted to qualify for Boston, and some folks like me who just wanted to finish.  If the half-marathon doesn’t kill me, I might do a marathon one day.  The movie is available to watch free on Hulu as well if you’re interested and don’t have Netflix.

So far I’m up to 6.3 miles.  I have the Turkey Trot 10K on Thursday, and I’m so excited!  If you tried to tell me a few months ago that I would be excited about running 6.2 miles, I would have asked you what you were smoking.  Getting into running has been a really positive change in my life, and I love having races as goals.  After the Turkey Trot, I’m running the Virginia is for Lovers 14K and the Shamrock half-marathon.

I have several knitty things I’d love to share, but I can’t until after Christmas.  I can show the Ravenclaw scarf whenever I get around to taking a picture since Dan has known about it all along.

2 thoughts on “This and that and running, of course.

  1. How’s The Girl Who Stopped Swimming? I have it but haven’t read it yet.

    (If I had a nickel for every time I said that, I’d have…well, a lot of nickels, but they’d probably be turned into even more unread books.)

  2. Your posts about running have got me thinking about taking it up for the new year. Ah, I can’t believe I said that. 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying What I Talk About When I Talk About Running.

Leave a Reply

