Booking Through Thursday

btt button

Suggested by JM:

“Life is too short to read bad books.” I’d always heard that, but I still read books through until the end no matter how bad they were because I had this sense of obligation.

That is, until this week when I tried (really tried) to read a book that is utterly boring and unrealistic. I had to stop reading.

Do you read everything all the way through or do you feel life really is too short to read bad books?

_______________________________________________________________

I only force myself to finish a book I’m not enjoying – I hesitate to use the word “bad” – if it is for book club.  I feel like the other people in book club make the effort to read every book, and it is rude to not finish a selection.  I suffered through One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Forever by Pete Hamill for book club.

On my own time, I give a book 50 pages to real me in.  I’ll give a longer book 100 pages.  The only exception to this recently was The Twilight Saga.  I kept thinking they would get better, and they only solidified my opinion that you shouldn’t keep reading a book just because you “should” like it or because everyone else likes it.  I will never get all the time back that I spent on that series.  No hate comments, please.  That’s just my opinion.

4 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. I cannot believe that I wasted my LIFE on Twilight.

    I know many, many people love it and I’m happy that it got some people into reading.

    For me? It was horrible. I’m sorry, the MC’s “problems” were so disgustingly shallow compared to my life, it actually infuriated me!

    I do not want to read about people having lives like mine or worse, a kind of shadenfreude. No. It’s why I prefer non-fic, probably! ;p When I read, I want to be moved, whether it’s carried away or inspired. That book did nothing but tick me off.

    I wish that I had passed it on 40 pages in, rather than 400 (can’t remember the actual pages).

    • My biggest problem with Twilight was how much her entire happiness depended on this boy. I think the way she was depicted throughout the whole series was as a girl who needed a boy to define her. It bothers me that teenage girls might “look up” to Bella.

  2. I felt obligated to read and like The Other Boleyn Girl – I think you’ll probably remember me reading it for my 50 in 365 challenge last year. That was the book, for ME, that solidified the idea to never again waste my time on something I’m obviously not enjoying.

    • That’s funny, I think everyone’s book that they feel this way about is something that had a huge fan base. I think it’s just annoying to read something expecting it to be really good and then be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

