Running Update – 10K Achieved

I have been a bad blogger for the last week because last week was a hellishly busy week at work.  By the time I got home at night, I was too fried to read or blog.

I have good news about my running progress.  While I was in the Outer Banks with my friends last weekend, we ran 6 miles.  Woohoo!  I’m ready for the Turkey Trot 10K on Thanksgiving Day.  My friend ran the Outer Banks Marathon on Sunday, and that was really inspiring.  She improved her time from 5:00 to 4:13.  Maybe I’ll be able to do that one day.

Because I’m completely insane, I’ve decided to sign up for the Shamrock Half Marathon on 3/21/2010.  I printed out this training schedule, and I’m going to change it a little since I have 16 weeks to train.  I would also prefer to actually run 13 miles once before race day.

Running turns out to be much more expensive than you would think.  I had to buy special shoes that cost an arm and a leg.  Now that I’ll be running through the winter, I need a moisture wicking top, which was super expensive at Dick’s.  Now that I know my size, the rest of those will be bought online for a discount or at race expos.

I’m really excited about running, and I hope I continue to stay motivated.  Having goals like races really help to keep me moving.  I’ll need to sign up for some 10K’s between now and March.

10 thoughts on “Running Update – 10K Achieved

  1. I think that if you’re going to invest in a hobby, let it be something great for your health 🙂 I’m so proud of you – I was telling my sister about your goals the other night. She did the Couch25K program 🙂

    • It does make it easier to spend that kind of cash when it’s for something that will make me healthier. I started out in September with the Couch25K program. It is a really good way to get yourself moving.

  2. Pingback: Outer Banks Marathon Outer Banks Marathon Homemade Outdoor Halloween Decorations at Homemade Outdoor Halloween Decorations

  3. Pingback: Outer Banks Marathon Outer Banks Marathon at Homemade Outdoor Halloween Decorations

Leave a Reply

