Fall Cleaning

For those of you who did not read my blog when I was over at Vox, my husband and I recently purchased a house.  Here it is:

Our House

Now that we have been living there for about three months, I really want to start making it feel more like a home.  My plan is to get things organized and then to start making things feel cozy room by room. 

Yesterday – with the help of the Gleeful Podcast and several episodes of This American Life on my iPod – I finally unpacked the last two boxes in our bedroom and got all of my clothes organized.  They were just put away wherever they would fit after we moved in since I was exhausted from the moving process.

Here is my To Do List for getting the house organized.  I will make a separate page of this list on the blog when I have time to make it look pretty and add pictures of the rooms.  When I’m done with this list (ha ha, if it ever happens) I’ll start on the “making the house pretty” list.

Master Bedroom:

  • Finish organizing closets.
  • Find a way to organize jewelry and other stuff on vanity.

Craft Room / Office:

  • Unpack the last few boxes of stuff.
  • Find shelves for fabric and crafty books.
  • Organize sewing cabinet.
  • Go through plastic drawers and file box and throw junk out.

Second Guest Room (The Pink Room):

  • Unpack boxes.

Converted Garage / Family Room:

  • Unpack the huge pile of boxes that we pretend are not there.
  • Find nice bookshelves to replace the crappy MDF ones.

Kitchen:

  • Put the replacement cabinet door on where I broke the old one.

Living Room:

  • Put everything away that does not belong in the living room.
5 thoughts on “Fall Cleaning

    • It is a lot of work for a whole house, but the nice thing is that there are a lot of places to hide boxes until you are ready to take another crack at them. It really helped me mentally to make the list. Now it doesn’t seem so impossible to get everything done. I’ll just take it one bullet point at a time.

  1. That list didn’t seem that bad to me! Of course, I’m not there. My garage is a hell hole that swallows my car but when I say, “oh, I’ve got to clean the garage” it doesn’t seem so bad.

    • It’s not really that bad. It really helped to make a list because I can feel like I’m making progress by marking tasks off the list.

      Thank you for the house compliment. 🙂 I will be taking pictures of the rooms and making a blog page here with before pictures so I can show the difference after we organize. Hopefully, I will get to do that this Friday when I’m off.

Leave a Reply

