Booking Through Thursday

btt button

We’re moving in a couple weeks (the first time since I was 9 years old), and I’ve been going through my library of 3000+ books, choosing the books that I could bear to part with and NOT have to pack to move. Which made me wonder…

When’s the last time you weeded out your library? Do you regularly keep it pared down to your reading essentials? Or does it blossom into something out of control the minute you turn your back, like a garden after a Spring rain?

Or do you simply not get rid of books? At all? (This would have described me for most of my life, by the way.)

And–when you DO weed out books from your collection (assuming that you do) …what do you do with them? Throw them away (gasp)? Donate them to a charity or used bookstore?  SELL them to a used bookstore? Trade them on Paperback Book Swap or some other exchange program?

__________________________________

I weed my books every time I move and whenever I get the urge to get organized.  Typically, they pile up until I run out of places to put them.  When I do weed, I donate the books to the library after giving family and friends a chance to scavenge them.  If they are in bad enough shape that I know the library can’t do anything with them or they are dated textbooks that will be of no use to anyone due to obsolescence, I throw them out.

One thought on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. I don’t keep many books. One of the biggest things I miss about all the cuts at my job is that I can’t buy books anymore (or hardly).

    Our library is complete shite…which leads into:

    For many years, I donated books when I finished with them to the “local” library (26 miles from where I live). I get a good feeling knowing that literally, I’ve donated thousands of books. I can walk through the stacks and point them out.

    ( The “give away” thing came about because I didn’t have a safe home and bounced around a lot–you ]could only keep what you could carry; it’s not because I’m such an Enlightened Soul ;p )

Leave a Reply

