Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

Her Fearful SymmetryI subscribe to EarlyWord, a blog written about the publishing industry for librarians.  One day they posted an offer for galleys of Her Fearful Symmetry, and of course I entered.  This entry long forgotten, I come home to a package from Simon & Schuster about a week ago.  Assuming it’s some galley of something from an unknown author, I open it and then start jumping up and down and calling anyone I could think of who would be able to share the level of excitement I felt for getting to read this book before it is published.  On a bit of a tangent, the other nice thing about advanced reader’s copies is that I love trade paperbacks, and that’s basically what they are.  So I can read something that I’d only be able to read in hardback for a while right away in paperback.

When I first found out that Audrey Niffenegger would be publishing another novel, I had the apprehension that it would not live up to The Time Traveler’s Wife, which happens to be one of my favorite books of all time.  Luckily, that was not the case at all.  I loved this novel even more than The Time Traveler’s Wife.  I related to the characters so much more, and the setting was very well described.  Niffenegger worked at Highgate Cemetery in London to learn about its history and weaved the stories of the cemetery expertly into the novel.  The story is about the idea of preserving identity in relationships.  It is a beautifully written ghost story with characters that you will love (and some that you won’t). This was one of those novels that I was deeply sorry to turn the last page of and is now on my list of favorite books of all time.

She thanks Neil Gaiman in the acknowledgments, which is funny.  He’s another one of my favorite authors who can write a story about a cemetery that I hate to finish.

8 thoughts on “Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

  1. Thank you for this thoughtful and enthusiastic review of HFS! My name is Matt from Regal Literary, Audrey’s literary agency.
    Readers of this blog might be interested in knowing that Regal is giving away ten advanced reader’s copies and three first edition hardcovers of the new Audrey Niffenegger book, Her Fearful Symmetry, on October 1st in a lottery to anyone who joins the facebook page as a fan and sends an e-mail to hfs@regal-literary.com. Good luck!

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Her-Fearful-Symmetry/68080996784

  2. I’ve been thinking of buying this book, and I’m glad I saw your review. I didn’t like “The Time Traveler’s Wife” but I wanted to give her another chance. Have to add this to me TBR list…

  3. Pingback: My favorite books of 2009. « Bookishly Fabulous

  4. Pingback: #66 – Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffinegger « Let's eat, Grandpa! Let's eat Grandpa! (Punctuation saves lives.)

Leave a Reply

