It’s that time again!

It has been a while since I posted about what I've been reading so here's a list.

 

The Unbearable Lightness of Being [UNBEARABLE LIGHTNESS OF BEING] [Mass Market Paperback]

Definitely Dead (Southern Vampire Mysteries, Book 6)

All Together Dead (Southern Vampire Mysteries, Book 7)

From Dead to Worse (Southern Vampire Mysteries, No. 8)

Neverwhere: A Novel

Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse, Book 9)

The Hunger Games

Catching Fire (The Second Book of the Hunger Games)

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle: A Novel (Oprah Book Club #62)

The Beach House: A Novel

Milan Kundera – The Unbearable Lightness of Being – This was a book club book picked by the same person who loved One Hundred Years of Solitude so I was wary, but I really enjoyed this novel.  It takes place in Prague before and during the invasion of the USSR.  It is a story of several interconnected people and their liaisons.  Even though I enjoyed the book, I agree with everyone in my book club that the only likable character is the dog.

Charlaine Harris – Definitely Dead, All Together Dead, From Dead to Worse, Dead and Gone – There isn't much to say about these books.  They continue the Sookie Stackhouse series.  They have all started to blend together in my mind, but there are some new characters introduced that I really like reading about, and the shapeshifters and werewolves have a really good story arc.

Neil Gaiman – Neverwhere – I would describe Neverwhere as a dark Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.  I love Gaiman's writing style.  He can make you laugh about really dark situations.  The character's Croup and Vandemar are perfectly written, and I found myself giggling through their scenes.   

Suzanne Collins – The Hunger Games – This is one of many recent Young Adult post-apocalyptic novels.  The interesting twist here is that there is a tyrannical Capitol that rules 12 districts.  Each district must send two teenagers annually to fight in the Hunger Games, a televised game where the 28 teens fight to survive.  Only one teen leaves the arena alive.  It was riveting, and some of the best YA fiction I've read recently.  I loved that it was also a social commentary on reality TV and celebrity.  This will be a trilogy, with the second book, Catching Fire, coming out in September.

Suzanne Collins – Catching Fire – No spoilers here, I promise!  I was lucky enough to land an Advance Reader's Copy of Catching Fire from a Collection Development Librarian who went to Book Expo America this year.  I will just say that it is awesome, and I can't wait to read the final title in the trilogy.

David Wroblewski – The Story of Edgar Sawtelle – This is the book club book that we will be discussing on Saturday.  I don't usually read Oprah's Book Club selections (except for the classics), and this title hasn't made me want to in the future.  I do have to say that Wroblewski is an awesome writer.  The prose is wonderfully crafted, but I found that I had to make reading assignments for myself to finish this book because I wasn't riveted.  I did find myself really wanting a Sawtelle dog.

Jane Green – The Beach House – After making myself finish the thick tome for book club, I needed a nice light read to loll around on the beach with.  The Beach House was perfect.  It was predictable and formulaic, but just what I needed.  I loved the Nantucket setting, especially since I read a good portion of it on the beach. 

 

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “It’s that time again!

  1. I just wanted to stop by and thank you for recommending The Hunger Games. I read it in a day and went right out and bought Catching Fire. Loved them both. Can't wait for the third book.

Leave a Reply

