Brief book reviews.

I’m way behind on blogging books.  Here is a list of short reviews of what I’ve read since my last book post.

Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse Novels)

A Certain Slant of Light

Dead as a Doornail (Southern Vampire Mysteries, Book 5)

The Society of S: A Novel

The Human Stain: A Novel

The Little Giant of Aberdeen County

Dead to the World (Southern Vampire Mysteries, Book 4)

Club Dead (Southern Vampire Mysteries, Book 3)

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle: A Novel

 

Charlaine Harris – Living Dead in Dallas – You will notice a lot of what I’ve been reading lately consists of the Sookie Stackhouse series.  It’s important to read these in order so I’ll just give a quick review of each without spoiling anything.  Living Dead in Dallas is the third in the series.  The change of location and introduction of “The Fellowship of the Sun” made this a nice sequel to the first one.  I did miss the local characters from Bon Temps though since this one took place in Dallas. 

 
Haruki MurakamiThe Wind-Up Bird Chronicle – This was one of my 2009 Reading Challenge selections.  I’ll review it in another post because I want to give these books a more in-depth review.
 
Charlaine Harris – Club DeadSookie travels to Jackson in this novel to find Bill, who has disappeared.  The werewolves are featured heavily in this novel, and it was nice to read about another supernatural entity than the vampires.  This is probably my least favorite one so far, but I like the new character Alcide Herveaux.
 
Tiffany Baker – The Little Giant of Aberdeen County – This is Tiffany Baker’s debut novel.  She has a wonderful writing style.  I would compare her to the light magical realism of Alice Hoffman.  This novel is about Truly, a larger than life girl growing up in a small town.  While I did enjoy Baker’s writing style, her characterization left something to be desired.  There wasn’t one character in this novel to root for.  Even the main character continued to make choices that made me want to throw the book across the room.  I find that a book is much less pleasurable to read when there is no character to sympathize with.
 
Charlaine Harris – Dead to the World – This is by far my favorite novel in the Sookie Stackhouse series so far.  The werewolves, fairies, and witches are heavily featured in this novel, and that made it really fun to read.  It is really hard to say anything about the plot of this one without spoiling anything so I will leave it at this.
 
Philip Roth – The Human Stain – I chose this book to be our April book club selection.  It is the first Philip Roth book I’ve read, and I’ll definitely look into reading some of his others.  The main character of this novel is Coleman Silk, a college professor who retired because he used the word “spook” in his classroom.  He meant the definition of the word that means apparition, but unfortunately was referring to an African-American student who complained to the school about him.  Rather than apologize, he retires.  The book tells his life story and reveals some surprising things about who he really is.  The novel sends the message that you can never really know anyone, no matter how close you think you are to them.  It was a great book for discussion. 
 
Susan Hubbard – The Society of S – The Society of S is a coming of age novel in which the main character is half human, half vampire.  It reads like Young Adult fiction even though its classified as adult.  I actually think it would have done much better marketed to teens next to books like Twilight and the Blue Bloods series.  Maybe I’m just burnt out on the chaste teen vampire books, but I kept waiting for the real action to start in this one.  I’m not sure if I’ll read the sequel.  This is another one where the writing was excellent but the story was just OK.
 
Charlaine Harris – Dead as a Doornail – I enjoyed the fifth Sookie novel, but I just finished it a few days ago and can’t remember much of what happened.  Good fun, but not memorable.
 

Laura WhitcombA Certain Slant of Light – I think maybe I just don’t like teen romances.  This is about two ghosts who meet and end up inhabiting other people’s bodies.  I would have liked it more if it was more of a ghost story and less of a love story.  There were some very interesting parts when it wasn’t describing them pining for each other.  My brain may be telling me that I’ve read enough supernatural fluff for a while now.  That probably won’t stop me though. 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

