One tip – Show up.

I am the librarian on our staff who is in charge of Business and Grants resources.  One thing we do in addition to classes is "One hour with a librarian" where a staff member sits down with a patron and shows them how to use something.

I had an appointment set up this morning at 9 with a lady who wanted grant information.  She never showed, and as of 11:00, I haven't gotten a call from her explaining why.  Since I called Friday to remind her, I doubt she forgot it.  This is really irritating as I spend time before one of these appointments preparing for the specific information the patron needs.  She wasted my time, and if she did this to someone she was giving a grant proposal to, she would get no money. 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

