Booking Through Thursday – Libraries

btt button

Suggested by Barbara:

I saw that National Library week is coming up in April, and that led to some questions. How often do you use your public library and how do you use it?

I work at my public library so I guess you could say I use it everyday that I'm working.  I use it to read books, check out CD's and audiobooks, get articles from databases, and lots of other stuff.

Has the coffeehouse/bookstore replaced the library?

Hell no.  It will replace the library when the bookstore starts helping the unemployed find jobs and providing free access to information for everyone.  As that isn't profitable, I don't see it happening.  You haven't been in a library lately if you think we just have books.  I also give free classes at the library about applying for grants and using business reference sources.  There really is no place for that in a bookstore.

Did you go to the library as a child?

Oh yeah, my parents took me there all the time.

Do you have any particular memories of the library?

I remember doing the summer reading program and going to puppet shows.

Do you like sleek, modern, active libraries or the older, darker, quiet, cozy libraries?

I like newer active libraries because they are more welcoming.  I do wish that all libraries had at least one "quiet room" for those who prefer a quiet experience. 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Libraries

Leave a Reply

