Book Meme

Took from Kelly, Steve Betz, and Joie:

1) What author do you own the most books by?
Probably J.K. Rowling.  I don't buy a lot of books, but I do have the Harry Potter series.
 
2) What book do you own the most copies of?
I don't think I have more than one copy of any book.  Dan and I both have a copy of The Pillars of the Earth, but neither of us have read it yet.  We both got it from other people who liked it.
3) Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
Nope.
4) What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
Mark Darcy.
5) What book have you read the most times in your life?
The Cat in the Hat.
6) What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?
Any Baby-sitter's Club book.
 
7) What is the worst book you've read in the past year?
The Twilight Saga – Although I guess there are 4 of those. 
8) What is the best book you've read in the past year?
Off the top of my head, Water for Elephants and Unwind stand out.
 
9) If you could force everyone you tagged to read one book, what would it be?
The Bell Jar.
10) Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for literature?
I'd like to see an American win.  Cormac McCarthy would be a good one.
 
11) What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
Unwind would make a cool movie if done right.  I really would rather the studios come up with original material rather than ripping off literature for movies.
12) What book would you least like to see made into a movie?
How I Live Now – I don't really want to see teenage incest on screen.  I did like the book though.
 
13) Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
I haven't had a dream that I can remember about any of these things.
14) What is the most lowbrow book you've read as an adult?
I think the author of this meme is a snob, and I refuse to answer the question.
15) What is the most difficult book you've ever read?
Probably One Hundred Years of Solitude.  I renamed it "One Hundred Years of Reading" after having to read it for book club.  Crime and Punishment wasn't easy, but it was much more engrossing than OHYoS.
 
6) What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you've seen?
How do you define obscure?
17) Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
My brain is only bringing up Camus and Dostoyevky right now, and I like both.
18) Roth or Updike?
Haven't read either, but our next book club book is The Human Stain by Roth.
19) David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
I love David Sedaris.
20) Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
Shakespeare.
21) Austen or Eliot?
Austen.  Silas Marner bored me to tears in high school.  I assume the meme means George and not T.S.
22) What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
I'm pretty well rounded, but I do stay away from military fiction.  I could work on reading more SciFi and Fantasy also.
23) What is your favorite novel?
One?  The Bell Jar, Wuthering Heights, Ramona Quimby, Age 8

24) Play?
A Midsummer Night's Dream

25) Poem?
Edna St. Vincent Millay – Lament – It is so depressing it makes me laugh.
Any Poe poem does the trick too.
26) Essay?
I can only think of "Why I Write" by Orwell.  That was good.
27) Short story?
"Diamond as Big as the Ritz" – Fitzgerald
28) Work of non-fiction?
The Anarchist's Cookbook
 
April Fool's!!
29) Who is your favorite writer?
Can't pick just one.
30) Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
James Patterson or Stephenie Meyer – Yes, I felt this way before Stephen King said it.
31) What is your desert island book?
SAS Survival Guide Handbook

32) And … what are you reading right now?
Club Dead – Charlaine Harris

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

One thought on “Book Meme

Leave a Reply

