Book Update

 

Wake

How I Live Now

I've been reading a lot of YA books lately. 

Lisa McMann – WakeWake is about a girl who can see other people's dreams.  This is problematic because she becomes paralyzed when she is sucked into other people's dreams.  When other students fall asleep in class she has to be careful not to get sucked in.  The story was interesting, but the writing was really not very good.  McMann used sentence fragments for emphasis a lot in this book, and there were times when I wanted to throw the book at the wall for this reason.  I'm not sure if I'll read the sequel.  The story was interesting, but I'm not sure if I can handle another book full of her writing.

Meg Rosoff – How I Live Now – A girl is sent to live with her cousins in the English countryside when a war breaks out and England becomes an occupied country.  The story is mostly about the survival of Daisy and her cousins without an adult around.  There is some supernatural influence in the book because one of her cousins can read minds, but I would not classify it as supernatural novel.  How I Live Now won the Printz Award (like the Newbury for YA novels) and is also our book club book for this month.  The writing was very good.  Rosoff forgoes the use of quotations marks, and succeeds in using this style to make the story flow the way a teenager would tell it.  I wished she had fleshed out more of the ending, but there is a sequel so maybe she was saving it for that.  What ever happened to stand alone books?

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

One thought on “Book Update

  1. Your description of style in How I Live Now reminds me of The Handmaid's Tale – it was the first book I'd read that head such a style and it was very interesting and intriguing. Might have to pick this one up 🙂

Leave a Reply

