No Country for Old Men

Our book club selection this month was No Country for Old Men.  I’m surprised at how much I liked this novel.  McCarthy is a master of character and dialog.  This is the first novel of his that I have read, and I’m sure I will read more in the future.  I wasn’t always completely sucked in by the story, but I was consistently amazed at the writing style. 

I’ll skip the summary because you’ve probably seen the movie.  If not, let me introduce you to a website called Google. 

McCarthy forgoes the use of quotation marks, commas, and some other punctuation.  At first this annoyed me.  Who does he think he is, Hemingway??  But his writing is so concise and fluid, and his dialog so well constructed that you don’t miss the punctuation at all.  All the comparisons on the back of the book to Faulkner and Steinbeck were right on.

I gave this 4 out of 5 stars only because I think the story would have had more oomph if he ended the book about 30 pages earlier.

Perhaps I will watch the movie now.

One thought on “No Country for Old Men

  1. Pingback: My favorite books of 2009. « Bookishly Fabulous

Leave a Reply

