Booking Through Thursday – 2/5/09

btt button

Suggested by Simon Thomas:

Have you ever been put off an author’s books after reading a biography of them? Or the reverse – a biography has made you love an author more?

___________________________________________________________

I'd say Ayn Rand is probably my best example of knowing too much about an author.  I did a research project on her in Freshman English in college.  Her philosophy was too harsh and selfish to me, and I actually really disliked her after writing the paper.  I do eventually want to read Atlas Shrugged and The Fountainhead, but I will definitely do so with a skeptical point of view. 

Orson Scott Card's views of gay marriage have put me off him as well.  We'll see if I decide to read the other Ender books.

Conversely, the more I know about Beverly Cleary, Neil Gaiman, Kurt Vonnegut, and Jon Scieszka, the more I adore them and their works.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – 2/5/09

  1. Thank you! I read Atlas Shrugged and thought it was the most selfish book I'd ever read. Which is funny because I know a guy who loved it and he's the most selfish person I've ever met.

  2. I, too, read Atlas Shrugged and The Fountainhead (without having seen film/s and still haven't) before moving on to 3 of her Objectivism (or whateverthehellit'scalled) books. Then, I read something that was about her life by one of her pupils or whateverthehellyou'dcallthem. I was getting awfully shaky through the 3 books after the novels and by the time I was reading the biographical account, well, I don't think I finished it.I've only tried one Vonnegut and didn't finish it (I was a teenager) but recently heard a radio piece on him and now I want to give him another try.

  3. I loathe Ayn Rand's books. I never read Atlas Shrugged (and someone once said it's main use is as a doorstopper) but The Fountainhead was painful. I don't know what Card's views on gay marriage are, and I'm not sure I want to, because I adore Ender's Saga and don't want anything to spoil that… Have never read Vonnegut, what's a good book to start with?

  4. I loved Ender's Game so I will probably read the others. I will check them out from the library to avoid spending money in his direction.My favorite Vonnegut book so far is Mother Night. I think that's a good one to start with. It has been so long since I read Slaughterhouse Five that I can't remember it, but that's the most well known one.

Leave a Reply

