Oh Snap!

Stephen King in an interview:

Both Rowling and Meyer, they’re speaking directly to young people. … The real difference is that Jo Rowling is a terrific writer and Stephenie Meyer can’t write worth a darn. She’s not very good.

and

Somebody who’s a terrific writer who’s been very, very successful is Jodi Picoult. You’ve got Dean Koontz, who can write like hell. And then sometimes he’s just awful. It varies. James Patterson is a terrible writer but he’s very very successful.

 

I can't say I disagree (Is Patterson even writing his books anymore?), but I'm surprised that he would say that in an interview.  He's always talking about authors that he likes, and he is all about helping new authors.  This is the first time I've heard him say something so negative.  If you're ready for some internet drama, read the comments on the post.

Update about Patterson – It is a matter of opinion whether he writes the books or not.  He writes an outline, and a collaborator writes the novel.  To me, that's not enough involvement from an author for me to bother reading.  An article about it is here.  I had to search for it because I thought I had read something like it before.  He's just a brand at this point.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

14 thoughts on “Oh Snap!

  1. I agree with you – I am surprised that he said it, but I do agree with him (about Rowling vs. Meyer, I haven't read Picoult, Koontz, or Patterson). For a laugh, I went to the site to read the comments. What I find funny is all the people who said that King "isn't a literary critic" – thus he shouldn't state his opinion. First of all – he is. He has a column in Entertainment Weekly where he frequently writes about literature, and he's done reviews for the NY Times Book Review section. (I believe, I may be thinking of other book review sections that I've seen.) Second of all, I think it's really funny how people use that as an excuse for people who disagree with them "so and so isn't an expert, therefore so and so has no right to state their opinion." Speaking of all this – is there some secret internet group of Twilight fans who scout the internet for any Twilight disses and then alert each other to attack!?

  2. Speaking of all this – is there some secret internet group of Twilight
    fans who scout the internet for any Twilight disses and then alert each
    other to attack!?I think there must because there are always lots of nasty comments on anything dissing the series.What I found amusing in the comments was the people who said that he is jealous because she has made so much money and had a movie made out of her book. I'm thinking, "Huh?" Do they know who Stephen King is? Probably the most successful author of our time AND critically acclaimed. How many movies have been made out of his works?

  3. The comments remind me of when a underground band goes mainstream. Everyone pretends they've been listening "for years" and they "discovered" them based on their great sense of music.Meyers' is like an underground punk band – and I don't mean that in a good way. She's found a way to tap into the teen angst and that does not make her a good writer it makes her a good entertainer and I believe there is a BIG difference.I always think of this in regards to whether or not an author is good: Would I want to read it out loud? If the answer is yes – then they are a good writer. I wouldn't want to read Twilight out loud.

  4. I find it funny that the vehemence of the Meyer fans mimics the vehemence of the King fans in the 70s and 80s when King was "real" critics. Regardless, how is King not entitled to his opinion — and he is pretty knowledgeable about the genre — and it's one I agree with about JKR and SM.

  5. I saw the name Steven King on this post and almost didn't read it, because when people were jumping on his bandwagon I got curious and tried to read his so-called writing. I guess he's fine if you go for oddball creepy creatures sneaking up on people out of thick fog and killing them. Not my taste, though.I thoroughly enjoyed reading J.K. Rowling's novels and seeing the movies based on them. Even as an adult, I was glad there were books by her lying around the house to spark my curiosity.Next we have the vampires who are good, who resist their strong urges to drink human blood. Toss in a teenybopper with a bad crush on one and you have a hilarious scenario. A clumsy teen who gets paper cuts in the wrong house. Her angst makes things funnier. That's how I see it and am reading the 2nd book.I couldn't get through one story, let alone one book of King's. In my humble opinion, he stinks and so does his attitude towards Meyer's writings.

  6. I agree with you 100%. I'm all for stating your opinion however that's completely unprofessional. Attacking someone is never an option in my book. Oh well to each their own.

  7. I was shocked when I heard that he had made negative comments. I mean rarely is an author everybody's cup of tea… and you know the saying… if you can't say anything nice…

  8. I think the Twilight people are really touchy about the series. I'm a huge Harry Potter fan and I would never have reacted that way. I don't know if it's just that most of them are Teenaged girls or what. I enjoyed the Twilight series but I am not a fanatic and sadly I think I liked the movie better which a lot of people did not like.

  9. I'm so tired of the whole Twilight nightmare. It's bad enough to see the fans everywhere in the mall with their tee shirts and books…but… the book being read in an upper level ENGLISH LIT class…Save us all!

Leave a Reply

