Booking Through Thursday – Songs

btt button

But, enough about books … Other things have words, too, right? Like … songs!

If you’re anything like me, there are songs that you love because of their lyrics; writers you admire because their songs have depth, meaning, or just a sheer playfulness that has nothing to do with the tunes.

So, today’s question?

  • What songs … either specific songs, or songs in general by a specific group or writer … have words that you love?
  • Why?
  • And … do the tunes that go with the fantastic lyrics live up to them?

One song comes to mind that has beautiful lyrics and amazing music.  I've posted about Ben Sollee before.  I discovered him from an interview on NPR, and he talked about writing this song after dealing with grandparents who had been brilliant but now had dementia.  The premise of the song is that God has dementia and can't remember everything he created.  It is so simple and beautiful that it gave me chills the first time I heard it.

Panning for Gold

Ben Sollee

Panning for Gold by Ben Sollee

I saw God by the river
Panning for gold
I saw God by the river
Weary and old

He said; ‘Son,
I used to know where I put things,
I used to know’

I saw God in the forest
Teaching Tai Chi to the trees
In the wind
And bowing to the seas

He said; ‘Son,
I used to know where I put things,
I used to know’

I saw God on the mountain
Tearing at the sky
I saw God on the mountain
With tears in his eyes

He said; ‘Son,
I used to know where I put things,
I used to know
I could have shown you all the beauty in the world
but now I need you to show me
Yes, show me’

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

