2009 Reading Challenge

After reading 50 books in 2008, I decided to do a different sort of challenge this year.  It's more of a quality over quantity challenge.  There are several books I've been meaning to read that I never got around to.  Some are classics, and some are books that I've been given by my mom that I just keep passing over.  Drum roll please…

  1. John Steinbeck – East of Eden
  2. Ken Follett – Pillars of the Earth
  3. Haruki Murakami – Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
  4. Jeffrey Eugenides – Middlesex
  5. Tracy Chevalier – Girl with a Pearl Earring
  6. Ernest Hemingway – For Whom the Bell Tolls
  7. Fyodor Dostoyevsky – Crime and Punishment
  8. Virginia Woolf – A Room of One's Own
  9. E.M. Forster – Howards End
  10. Geraldine Brooks – Year of Wonders

I will add links to my reviews as I work through the list.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

14 thoughts on “2009 Reading Challenge

  1. East of Eden is excellent. I read it like, uh….20 or more years ago! aieeee! And For Whom the Bell Tolls, I can tell you as a spoiler, it tolls for thee. πŸ˜›
    I read that too I think! but I don't really remember it, not a huge fan of Hemingway, though I did like The Sun Also Rises. DID I read FWTBT? hmmmm….I read A Farewell To Arms in hs, maybe I'm thinking of that. Anyway…good luck!!

  2. Okay — so I haven't read a single on of them either. Though several people have suggested Murakami to me… and I can't count the number of times I've picked up Middlesex at the book store only to put it back down…

  3. I picked Middlesex up once to read and stopped after 100 pages for no apparent reason. It was good, but I must have wanted to read something else.
    I love Murakami. With him, you have to expect the unexpected. I just love to read the stuff that he comes up with.

  4. I've heard lots of good things about East of Eden and Year of Wonders so I'm looking forward to them. These are two of the ones my mom gave me years ago and they've been sitting waiting for me on one of my overcrowded bookshelves.

  5. I've only read A Girl with a Pearl Earring – but it was good! The rest on your list sound like a very good plan and I know you'll do swimmingly with this challenge just as you did with the last πŸ™‚ GOOD LUCK!

Leave a Reply

