50 in 365 – Year in review.

All in all, I think my year of reading went really well.  Some great books, good books, and not so good books.  The best thing about participating in the challenge was kick-starting my pleasure reading after finishing grad school.  It's easy to get out of the habit when you're used to spending most of your time on scholarly reading. 

BUT – I will not be challenging myself to read a specific number of books in 2009.  Towards the end when I had to cram a bunch of books in, it started to feel like homework.  I have many things I do for pleasure, and as an adult I shouldn't feel guilty for playing video games, crocheting/sewing/knitting, or watching TV because I have a number to meet for reading.  I also have a few longer books I want to read, and it is unlikely that I would finish East of Eden or Pillars of the Earth in one week's time.  What I am going to do is come up with a list of books I've been meaning to read (no more than 10) and make sure to read them this year.  I'll post that list when I come up with it.  I'm also interested in seeing how many books I will read when not faced with a goal.  I read a lot, but I don't think I will reach 50 without trying.  We'll see.

I'd love to hear what other people who did the challenge think about it now that it's over (whether you finished or not).

Without further ado, here is my reading list from 2008:

  1. Antonia Fraser – Marie Antoinette:  The Journey
  2. P.G. Wodehouse – Uncle Fred in the Springtime
  3. Haruki Murakami – A Wild Sheep Chase
  4. Margaret Atwood – The Blind Assassin
  5. Janet Evanovich – High Five
  6. Kerry Greenwood – Murder on the Ballarat Train
  7. Irene Nemirovsky – Suite Francaise
  8. Janet Evanovich – Hot Six
  9. Armistead Maupin – More Tales of the City
  10. Pete Hamill – Forever
  11. Diane Ackerman – The Zookeeper's Wife:  A War Story
  12. Stephenie Meyer – Twilight
  13. Stephen King – Cell
  14. Armistead Maupin – Further Tales of the City
  15. Lauren Groff – The Monsters of Templeton
  16. Kim Edwards – The Memory Keeper's Daughter
  17. Elizabeth Berg – We Are All Welcome Here
  18. Susan Runholdt – The Mystery of the Third Lucretia
  19. Kurt Vonnegut – Mother Night
  20. Kurt Vonnegut – A Man Without a Country
  21. Pat Frank – Alas, Babylon
  22. Stephenie Meyer – New Moon
  23. Bill Willingham – Fables:  Legends in Exile
  24. Bill Willingham – Fables:  Animal Farm
  25. Agatha Christie – Nemesis
  26. Kerry Greenwood – Death at Victoria Dock
  27. Stephenie Meyer – Eclipse
  28. Bill Willigham – Fables:  Storybook Love
  29. Gabriel Garcia Marquez – One Hundred Years of Solitude
  30. Daniel Silva – The Confessor
  31. Stephenie Meyer – Breaking Dawn
  32. Alice Hoffman – Blackbird House
  33. Sara Gruen – Water for Elephants
  34. Neal Shusterman – Unwind
  35. Anna Godbersen – The Luxe
  36. Bill Willingham – Fables:  March of the Wooden Soldiers
  37. Gregory Maguire – A Lion Among Men
  38. Anna Godbersen – Rumors
  39. Chelsea Handler – Are You There, Vodka?  It's Me, Chelsea.
  40. Margo Lanagan – Black Juice
  41. Melissa De la Cruz – Blue Bloods
  42. Kurt Vonnegut – Slapstick
  43. Adriana Trigiani – Big Stone Gap
  44. Neil Gaiman – The Graveyard Book
  45. Bill Willingham – Fables:  The Mean Seasons
  46. Melissa De la Cruz – Masquerade
  47. Bill Willingham – Fables:  Homelands
  48. Kate Jacobs – The Friday Night Knitting Club
  49. Bill Willingham – Fables:  Arabian Nights (and Days)
  50. Bill Willingham – Fables:  Wolves

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “50 in 365 – Year in review.

  1. There are several books on your list that I'll be reading for the first time in 2009! I want to do the set number thing at least once–to see if I can do it–and then decide if it's something I want to do yearly.btw, I kicked off my 52 in 52 with The Stranger since I kept seeing it on your sidebar/Shelfari 🙂

  2. I'm disappointed that I didn't make my goal (only finished 18 – but started many more than that), but I'm so proud of myself for having read as many as I did. In comparison to how many I read in 2007 – 2008 was a great personal success and goal met for me. I wanted to read more and I did.Though, like you, I don't think I'd be doing a set number again either. I'd rather just concentrate on those books that I really want to read and stop concentrating on the quantity. I passed up on some great books because I thought, "Oh – I can't read that in a week!"

  3. Oh! And I wanted to add, I'm so proud of you that you made your goal! I'm also really
    happy that you had to strive to complete it, because there
    were a few in the 50 in 365 group that surpassed it quickly and I
    thought, "This
    wasn't even a challenge for you, was it?" Good on them for already
    reading so easily, but it's also nice to see people who needed and met
    the challenge as you did 🙂

    Your selection of books was really great too! Such a great variety, not
    too many serious thinking books, not too many beach reads, and also
    some amazing graphic novels. Simply brilliant!

  4. I have set myself the challenge of 52 in 52 for 2009. I hope I do as well as you did. Bravo. :DPS. I too love The Bell Jar and The Stranger. Memoirs of A Geisha is on my reading list 🙂

  5. Did you manage to finish The Blind Assassin? It's better the second time around, you pick up a lot that you miss once you know what you are looking for :)My list would look more like 6 books, all read 15 times each. I guess I get attached to things ~grin~

  6. Yeah, I finished everything on this list. I really enjoyed The Blind Assassin. I rarely re-read books unless it is to revisit a classic from high school that I don't remember. Or if my book club reads something I read too long ago to remember.

Leave a Reply

