50 in 365 Challenge Update

I'm getting close to my goal!

Masquerade (Blue Bloods, Book 2)

Fables Vol. 5: The Mean Seasons

Fables Vol. 6: Homelands

The Graveyard Book

Big Stone Gap: A Novel (Ballantine Reader's Circle)

Slapstick: Or Lonesome No More!

42.  Kurt Vonnegut – Slapstick - Wonderfully wacky and strange as only Vonnegut can be.  An interesting fact about this book that Vonnegut explains in the Preface is that he was thinking of him and his sister when he created the two main characters. 

43.  Adriana Trigiani – Big Stone Gap – I thoroughly enjoyed this title, and I can't wait to read the rest of the series.  I loved the small town charm and the quirky characters.   

44.  Neil Gaiman – The Graveyard Book – Dan and I both really loved this book.  Gaiman has a way with language and a love for his characters that makes his writing fun to read.  I was disappointed at the end when I had to leave this magical world.

45.  Bill Willingham – Fables:  The Mean Seasons – Another fun entry to this graphic novel series.

46.  Melissa De la Cruz – Masquerade – I enjoyed this and look forward to reading the next in the series, but it was not as good as the first book, Blue Bloods.  De la Cruz spent too much time describing what everyone was wearing.  At really interesting plot twists, she would stop and spend a paragraph talking about someone's jeans.  Maybe that's what teens like, but it drove me a little crazy.  I still love her twist on the vampire legends.

47.  Bill Willingham – Fables:  Homelands – In this Fables title, we learn the true identity of the adversary.  I had kind of figured this out already, but it was interesting to read about how they became the adversary.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

