Greek Couscous Salad

We have book club tonight so I had to make something today to bring.  I wanted to make something healthy because I get tired of stuffing myself with crap food during the holiday season.  I looked around online and ended up making up a recipe for Greek Couscous Salad.  I made my own recipe up mainly to make it cheaper and quicker than the others I found.  I'll share it with you here. 
 
Edit:  The verdict was very good at book club.  I came home with an empty bowl!

Greek Couscous Salad by BookishlyFab

1 box plain couscous, prepared and cooled
1 pint grape tomatoes, halved (any tomato will do)
1 medium cucumber, chopped into large pieces
1/4 red onion, chopped
Handful of crumbled feta cheese
3/4 jar of mixed pitted olives, chopped (mine were green and kalamata)
1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted

For the dressing:
1 lemon
White Wine Vinegar
Olive Oil

2 cloves garlic, pressed, chopped, whatever
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano.

After the couscous has cooled, stir all ingredients except for dressing and pine nuts in a large bowl.  To make the dressing, whisk lemon juice, garlic, oregano, about 1/4 cup of vinegar, and enough olive oil to give it the consistency of a vinaigrette.  Pour over salad and stir in small batches until you like the taste.  Stir in the pine nuts.

A lot of the recipes called for red wine vinaigrette, but with all the strong flavors already in this salad (mainly the olives), I went for the lighter white wine vinegar.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “Greek Couscous Salad

Leave a Reply

