39 and 40

Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea

Black Juice

39.  Chelsea Handler – Are You There, Vodka?  It's Me, Chelsea – This wasn't nearly as funny as I thought it might be.  I wasn't expecting humor of David Sedaris proportions, but Handler is pretty funny on TV.  I laughed at a few of her stories, but they were so embellished that I spent more time wondering what was true and what was fiction than I did laughing at them.  I also ended up hoping that she isn't as racist and shallow as her comic persona. 

40.  Margo Lanagan – Black Juice – This interesting book of short stories is our book club book this month.  One interesting tidbit about it is that it is an adult book in Australia (where the author resides) and a young adult book in the United States.  I'm not sure why that is, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.  Each of the stories is very different from the others.  Lanagan has a way with words, and I really enjoyed this book even though I'm not usually a fan of short story collections.  There were stories that ended too quickly for me though, which is why I tend to stay away from them.

My Reading Entries

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

