Booking Through Thursday – 11/13

btt button

I’ve asked, in the past, about whether you more often buy your
books, or get them from libraries. What I want to know today, is, WHY BUY?

Even if you are a die-hard fan of the public library system, I’m
betting you have at least ONE permanent resident of your bookshelves in
your house. I’m betting that no real book-lover can go through life
without owning at least one book. So … why that one? What made you buy
the books that you actually own, even though your usual preference is
to borrow and return them?

If you usually buy your books, tell me why. Why buy instead of
borrow? Why shell out your hard-earned dollars for something you could
get for free?

______________________________________

I used to buy books every once in a while, but now that I work at a library, I can't remember the last book I purchased.  I probably read about 4-6 per month so I save from $60-100 per month or more depending on what I'm reading just by checking them out rather than buying them.  When I think about how expensive graphic novels are compared to how long you spend reading them, I don't understand why anyone would buy one unless it is a favorite to be re-read over and over. 

My exception to this is cookbooks because I will obviously use them more than once, but I am still pickier about buying them now that I can try them out first from the library.  I would also love to have my own copy of Edith Hamilton's Mythology and an illustrated treasury of Beatrix Potter's stories, but those are books that I would use more than once.

I also have books that were given to me by family or friends, but I usually read those and pass them on.  I already have too much junk.  I don't need to keep every book I read.  I do keep favorites if they weren't library books so I can lend them out to people who haven't read them.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – 11/13

  1. I buy because I don't know what I want to read at any given time, also I am a slow reader and too lazy to renew. I buy when I know there is a book I want, even if I don't read it right away. Or else I buy at thrift stores which is random.

  2. Like you, I read too many books each month to buy them all. I am a huge fan and patron of the library. I only buy cookbooks, reference works, and the occasional book that knocks my socks off so thoroughly that I know I'll want to read it again and perhaps lend it to friends.

  3. I use the library A LOT! They know me by sight, if not by name! BUT, my library doesn't carry a lot of the books that I find online that I want to read. Yes, I can do ILL, BUT if it is under 2 years old, they won't order it, they will buy it. Well, I can't keep asking my library to buy books that I might be the only one to read. I do occasionally do that. Also, my fav author (Laurell K. Hamilton) I own all of her stuff in hardcover. A) cause I love it and B) cause I read them over and over.Also, I have been reading a lot of author blogs lately, and it has made me feel a bit guilty about just borrowing from the library as they don't get as much (or any?) royalties from me reading.We need to support our authors or they won't write anymore!

  4. I buy books because I like to read numerous books at one time and sometimes it takes more than two weeks (and I always forget to renew..always). Like my piano lesson book..I read that for a half hour once a week. My waiting for the school bus book gets about 15 min. a day during the week and my waiting in line book only gets read if I get stuck in line. I buy hard bound books when it's about or from an author I collect but I usually buy paper backs and then hand them down when I'm done.

  5. I used to do that, but I've stopped after realizing how much money I was spending. I definitely understand the draw to buy books. I am often tempted, but then I try to remember that I don't re-read so it's a waste for me to buy them.

Leave a Reply

