Unwind

Unwind

Neal Shusterman

34.  Unwind – Neal Shusterman – Unwind is the best young adult novel I have read in a long time.  It takes place in the future after the war between pro-life and pro-choice ends in a strage compromise.  The compromise is that abortion is deemed illegal, but parents can choose to "unwind" their children from the ages of 13-17.  The book is about the efforts of three "unwinds" to escape the harvest camps – where unwinds are kept until it is their turn to be operated on – until they turn 18.  The operations involve taking the person apart, piece by piece, and donating their organs to people who need them.  While reading this book, I never did feel like I was reading a yound adult novel.  It is a very well-written book that has adult appeal since the premise is so different from anything I've read before.

 

My Reading Entries

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “Unwind

  1. Wow! That sounds like it would be a really interesting book if written well. I know that Neal Shusterman is a good author. My son has read a series by him although the name is escaping me now. I love a good YA book as much as a good adult book so I will have to check and see if our library has it in stock.
    I recently read Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. It is a YA book as well and I thought it was extremely well written. The USA is no more but is divided into districts and once a year each district has to send a boy and a girl (age 12-18) to fight to the death for their district. It is televised and the winner is able to provide their district with food and supplies for the year. I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

