More books.

The Confessor

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4)

30.  The Confessor – Daniel Silva – This is my favorite so far in the Gabriel Allon series.  In this story, Gabriel takes on the Vatican in retribution for a friend's death.  Silva expertly weaves fact and fiction together in this thriller that touches on the Vatican's response to the Holocaust.  One of my favorite things about Silva's novels is that he adds an author's note to the end of any novel that uncovers facts about history.  He tells you what is true, what is fiction, and what can be left to interpretation.  This book is everything The DaVinci Code could have been if Dan Brown was a good writer and didn't try to pass off the book as fact when he didn't really have the proof to back it up.

31.  Breaking Dawn – Stephenie Meyer – If you have not read this yet and don't want to know what happens, STOP HERE – SPOILERS BELOW.

I kept reading this series because everyone that loves it kept telling me that it gets better.  Really, it doesn't.  Not if you don't like the first ones.  This series was just not for me.  I don't like romance, and I'm tired of Bella and Edward's proclamations of love for each other.

Breaking Dawn was perhaps the most bloated YA book I've read.  I ended up skimming pages to get to the point, something I rarely do. 

However, the straw that broke the camel's back was the convenient way that everything worked out, and no one you really cared about was hurt or killed.  No one faced any consequences for anything.  There was never any explanation as to why Bella did not behave the way newborn vampires do.  It was just a convenient plot device because she had already wasted 400 pages without moving the plot towards the clash with the Volturi.  To me, Meyer is not a very good writer, and her writing did not improve over time as I thought it might.  So I will respectfully say now that I'm done with her books.  I'm truly happy that she inspires teens to read.

My reading posts.

My Shelfari page.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

5 thoughts on “More books.

  1. oh, Breaking Dawn–there were so many plot points that weren't truly resolved. They seemed too neatly wrapped up with a giant red bow, as if solely for the purpose of getting to the "yay! Happy ending!" moment. Twilight is such a satisfying read for me, but BD is absolutely my least favorite of the series. And I'm a diehard Twilighter! But anyway–I totally get where you're coming from.

  2. You know, I now have mixed feelings about Breaking Dawn. Originally I was really enthusiastic about it, and was surprised by the negative reaction by a lot of people. But the more I think about it, the more I start to dislike it. I really want to go back and do a reread of everything to see how I feel now. And can I just say–Renesmee is about the stupidest name I've ever heard. *shudder*

  3. I completely agree with you about the name Renesmee. Horrible.I'm just glad that my you two are more mature than some fans of the series! I went to Shelfari to read other reviews of the book, and one girl that posted a review very similar to mine was blasted for it. A lot of "if you don't like it, don't read it" stuff. The commenters weren't all teenagers either. What's the point of reviewing a book if you don't tell the truth?

  4. Bah. People do get really up in arms over any criticism of this series–quite obnoxious. I love the comment "if you don't like it, don't read it"–should a person instinctively know they won't like the book and avoid it? What does that even mean? Oh, dear. People annoy the crap out of me.

  5. I've been wanting to comment on this review, but kept forgetting :)In regards to Breaking Dawn, the whole Twilight series in fact, I completely agree, and I even like a lot of romance titles. Your comment on how bloated the book(s) are is exactly how I felt. I often skipped ahead of all of Bella's pointless back-and-forth internal dialogue because none of it mattered in the end. I have friends who have read the series numerous times and every time I think to myself, "How? Don't you get bored?"With all that said, the series was an easy read for me at a time when I wasn't reading at all and it gave me back my enthusiasm and I think fondly on it for that. Plus its a bonding point for a bunch of my girlfriends and I – its a shame really that I can't bond with them over significantly better books like Water for Elephants or The Handmaid's Tale, but that's how the cookie crumbles 😛

Leave a Reply

