Two books.

Alas, Babylon

New Moon (The Twilight Saga, Book 2)

21.  Alas, Babylon – Pat Frank – This novel was written in 1959, and it is apparently a classic science fiction apocalyptic novel.  I only recently heard about it when my brother read it.  I chose it for our next book club meeting, and I look forward to discussing it.  The book describes what would have happened if the US were to experience a nuclear holocaust.  The setting is small town in Florida which narrowly escapes the bombing and fallout.  The story focuses on a group of people who band together for survival.  I found the novel to be gripping and would recommend it highly to anyone.

22.  New Moon – Stephenie Meyer – New Moon is definitely an improvement on Twilight, but it is still a bit annoying to read pages and pages of description of how much Bella and Edward love each other.  I was thinking, "OK, get over it and on with the plot."  I loved it when she was describing the werewolves, and I love Jacob.  He sounds much sexier than Edward to me!  I am enjoying the story, but Meyer's writing style continues to frustrate me.  Her style is too flowery to me.  It's always, "His face was whiter than bone" instead of "His face was pale."  Some description is great, but she overdoes it.  Of course I will still finish the series to find out what happens.

My reading entries.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “Two books.

  1. I am definitely an Edward girl =) And I agree about Meyer's writing style. She tends to get rather wordy, doesn't she? But she is a great storyteller. I like that I don't have to think too hard to read her books, lol.

  2. Sort of by accident, I read a fair chunk of post-apocalyptic fiction this year (I wonder what a psychologist would say to that) — and both "Alas Babylon" and "Earth Abides" were heavily favored in commentaries.

  3. I *just* finished New Moon yesterday and began Eclipse today. I too, agree about Meyers' style, but then I have to remind myself that it's technically juvenile fiction, so I try not to get too bent out of shape. That being said…while I was intrigued by Edward in Twilight, I found him frustrating in New Moon. Jacob became much more sexy to me (although I get a little disturbed when I remember how young he is–it's not like when you're reading Harry Potter and are keenly aware that all the characters are still in school…there is just so much raw sensuality in these books that I can't tell if Meyers really meant for them all to be so young, at least in Jacob's case). I can kinda tell where the story is going, and while I know that Jacob isn't going to "win"…I wish that he would.

  4. I can't help it–like sassenach, I'm an Edward girl, but Jacob did grow on me eventually. And yeah, Meyer's writing style gets on my nerves from time to time (the nonstop description of so-and-so's eyes this and so-and-so's eyes that really got to me after awhile), but I couldn't help but be addicted.And speaking of post-apocalyptic books, have you read Octavia E. Butler's Parable of the Sower and Parable of the Talents? I thought they were super interesting, and very good reads.

  5. There seems to be a pretty close 50/50 split of people I know who like either Edward or Jacob. The sparkle thing kind of makes Edward seem less than manly to me. đŸ™‚
    I will definitely put those books on my list. I'm really into post-apocalyptic fiction right now for some strange reason.

Leave a Reply

