Double Vonnegut

Mother Night

A Man Without a Country

19.  Mother Night – Kurt Vonnegut – This was our book club selection for tomorrow night.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.  It was so well-written that I would re-read passages just to enjoy them again.   Mother Night is about an American spy on trial for war crimes after World War II because he was too good at his job.  His Nazi propaganda was so "good" that he amassed a following of white supremacists in America and attracted the hatred of the American public. 

Vonnegut's ideas about true identity cause the reader to have to consider whether the main character really is a good or a bad guy.  He also challenges the idea that there can ever be a true war against "evil."  Here is one quote I enjoyed so much that I had to write it down (p. 160):

Say what you will about the sweet miracle of unquestioning faith, I consider a capacity for it terrifying and absolutely vile.

20.  A Man Without a Country – Kurt Vonnegut – After reading Mother Night, I had to have more Vonnegut!  This is basically a collection of Vonnegut's ideas about our political situation, life, art, etc.  One of my favorite parts of this book is when he compares our oil addiction to that of a cocaine addict who will commit violent crimes to obtain more drugs.  I have to stop myself from devouring the rest of his books all in a row since there are only a finite number of them now that he's gone.

I was going to read New Moon next, but I just can't follow Vonnegut with a book about an angst-ridden teenager.

My Reading Entries

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

4 thoughts on “Double Vonnegut

  1. So glad to hear you enjoyed both of these! They are two of my favorite Vonneguts that I've read so far. Reading your entry makes me want to re-read A Man Without a Country, since it's been a while since I first read it.

  2. Here's a quote from Mother Night that I love:"There are plenty of good reasons for fighting," I said, "but no good reason ever to hate without reservation, to imagine that God Almighty Himself hates with you, too. Where's evil? It's that large part of every man that wants to hate without limit, that wants to hate with God on its side. It's that part of every man that finds all kinds of ugliness so attractive."

  3. I loved that one too! There were so many parts of the book that made me wish that Vonnegut was alive just so I could give him a hug.
    I figured I wouldn't have my post be completely made up of good quotes from the book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

