The Memory Keeper’s Daughter

I'm probably the only person on the planet who hasn't read this book yet, but in case you haven't…  It is about a doctor who is delivering his own children due to a snowstorm and realizes that the second twin has Down Syndrome.  He has his nurse take her away to an institution and tells his wife that she died.  The nurse can't leave her at the institution, and the rest of the book is about how this lie changes the relationships of the family.  By the way, none of that was a spoiler.  That much is printed on the back of the book.

I felt that the story was moving, and I wanted to read it when I was not reading it. 

#16 in 2008

If anyone is interested, I'm actually updating my Shelfari page these days so you can add me as a friend if you want.   It is great for keeping track of books I see in the library that I want to read without having a million scraps of paper in my pockets all the time.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter

  1. I'm reading this right now too! It was given to me as well, and I actually started reading it because I wanted something somber. I'm enjoying it so far.

Leave a Reply

