The Blind Assassin

The Blind Assassin

Margaret Atwood

This was my first Margaret Atwood novel, and it was a great
introduction.  The book is the story of two sisters told in two
different time periods, with another novel being told in turns as
well.  That doesn't make sense when I explain it, but once you get into
the book, it's easy to follow. 

I finished it a week ago, and I might have been able to write more then, but oh well.  Read it, you won't regret it.

#4 of 2008

I started reading The Constant Princess because I loved The Other Boleyn Girl,
but I quit reading 160 pages in because I couldn't stand it any
longer.  It was a glorified romance novel.  Nothing like the other book
at all.  Even though I knew she was changing history to tell the story
of Mary Boleyn, you could believe the motivations behind the
characters' actions.  I found her characterization of Katherine of
Aragon to be overly simplistic and saintly.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

5 thoughts on “The Blind Assassin

  1. I think this is one of the best-crafted stories I've ever read. I adored this book, especially because I started out hating the narrator so much, but by the end I was sorry I had to part company with her.

  2. Glad you enjoyed The Blind Assassin. I thought it was great. Thanks for the warning on The Constant Princess. I've been thinking about reading it, and I think I'll pass now.

Leave a Reply

